The Vegetarian Resource Group Blog

Vegan Options at Red Robin

Posted on July 12, 2010 by The VRG Blog Editor

by Jeanne Yacoubou, MS
VRG Research Director

We recently reported that Red Robin now offers the vegan Boca™ Original Burger at most of its US locations along with the vegetarian Gardenburger™ which has been on its menu for some time.

We followed up with Red Robin about the Boca's™ preparation and bun options. A senior quality assurance manager at Red Robin told us that the vegan patties are "microwaved in their original plastic wrapper." Then they are "crisped on the flattop grill which may be used for other proteins." Guests have the option of requesting that the Boca™ patty be microwaved only.

It appears that the whole grain bun and the sesame bun are entirely composed of plant-based ingredients including the mono- and diglycerides and sodium steroyl-3 lactylate. The whole grain and sesame buns are Kosher-certified.

These two ingredients in the ciabatta bun, herbed focaccia bun, jalapeño cornmeal bun, onion bun and slider bun are also from vegetable sources. However, these buns contain L-cysteine “derived from poultry” and are not certified Kosher.

Red Robin also offers a number of salads, all of which may be customized upon ordering like most menu items. However, it appears that only the Natural Toasted Sesame Dressing is all plant-based. The Italian and the Caesar Dressings contain anchovies. The Balsamic Vinaigrette contains egg yolks. All of the others contain dairy or honey.

All of the soups at Red Robin contain animal ingredients. The French onion is made with a beef base.

A "Veggie Rice Bowl" is on Red Robin's menu. It may be customized to be entirely vegan by choosing from the black beans, chipotle beans, white rice, salsa and/or steamed vegetables. All of these components are prepared apart from animal products.

Wontons are a new item at Red Robin. They cannot be microwaved and may be fried along with animal products. It is uncertain whether the L-cysteine in the wontons is derived from an animal source. Except for this ingredient, they appear all plant-based.

Red Robin's Steak Fries is a signature item free of all animal ingredients according to the senior Q&A manager with whom we spoke. The Fries are cooked in a designated fryer apart from all meat products "a majority of the time" according to our contact. Guests may request that their Steak Fries be cooked in the designated fryer.

2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 14 02 13 10:23

    <b>Vegan</b> Options at Red Robin – The <b>Vegetarian</b> Resource Group Blog: Vege Bun ~ Vege Food on Vege Bun, Vegetarian Bun, Veggie Bun, Vegan Bun, Vege Life Products, Vege Baking Buns, Vege Pastry Buns

  2. 05 07 13 10:05

    Red Robin Review | Jolly Green Jane

6 to “Vegan Options at Red Robin”

  1. Dimitri says:

    red robin?!


    but.. i guess i’m glad to see that i’ll have an option, if I ever end up at that godforsaken restaurant..

  2. Casey says:

    I’m glad I found this, my best friend is having her birthday dinner at Red Robin tomorrow and I really didn’t want to get stuck with a salad! Thank you so much!

  3. Cathy says:

    The Italian has anchovies? That should be listed on the menu so vegans & vegetarians know this.

  4. yuan says:

    Im very glad to hear this. That is really nice :).

  5. giannis says:

    Im very glad to hear this. This is really nice :).

  6. friv says:

    One of my favorites. Can’t get it up here. Worked at a restaurant in Boise years ago that has the best mandarin chicken ever. Have to stop and order it whenever we get down there. Can’t help with a recipe though. The cooks didn’t even speak english, much less share recipes. LOL

Leave a Reply

  • Donate

  • Subscribe to the blog by RSS


    Sign up for our newsletter to receive recipes, ingredient information, reviews of new products, announcements of new books, free samples of products, and other VRG materials.

    Your E-mail address:
    Your Name (optional):

↑ Top