The Vegetarian Resource Group Blog

What Is Carmine?

Posted on September 16, 2010 by Nina Casalena, The VRG Blog Editor

Today we are featuring an entry from our Guide to Food Ingredients, which is available online as well as in print.

Carmine
Commercial source: animal (insect).
Used in: confections, juices, "New Age"beverages, pharmaceuticals, dairy products, baked goods, yogurt, ice cream, fruit fillings, puddings.
Definition: A food coloring derived from the dried bodies of female beetles.
Non-Vegetarian

Your support allows us to continue this ingredient research and make updates as new information arises. Please consider making a donation.

1 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 11 12 11 11:01

    i thought skittles are vegetarian?


Leave a Reply


  • Donate

  • Subscribe to the blog by RSS

  • VRG-NEWS

    Sign up for our newsletter to receive recipes, ingredient information, reviews of new products, announcements of new books, free samples of products, and other VRG materials.

    Your E-mail address:
    Your Name (optional):



↑ Top