The Vegetarian Resource Group Blog

P.F. Chang’s Entrees Listed as “Vegetarian” Contain No Animal Ingredients

Posted on October 12, 2010 by The VRG Blog Editor

by Jeanne Yacoubou, MS
VRG Research Director

A VRG member from Minnesota recently told us about an experience she had at P.F. Chang’s China Bistro in Edina, MN in September 2010. She was told that the sauce in their entrees listed as “vegetarian,” including Buddha Feast; Coconut Curry Vegetables; Stir-Fried Eggplant; Vegetarian Ma Po Tofu; and Vegetable Chow Fun, contained milk. The reader asked The VRG to look into this because we had reported in 2008 that P.F. Chang’s “vegetarian” entrees contain no animal products.

The VRG contacted P.F. Chang’s about this issue. Stephanie in Customer Relations at P.F. Chang’s assured us that all of their vegetarian plates are dairy-free. These include the following: Buddha’s Feast: Steamed (vegetable medley with five-spice tofu served steamed); Buddha’s Feast: Stir-fried (vegetable medley with five-spice tofu served stir-fried); Coconut Curry Vegetables (stir-fried mixed vegetables, crispy silken tofu and peanuts in a vegetarian coconut curry sauce); Ma Po Tofu (sichuan’s famous dish of crispy silken tofu in a vegetarian sauce with steamed broccoli); Stir-Fried Eggplant (tossed with scallions in a savory chili pepper sauce); Vegetarian Fried Rice (fried rice in a savory vegetarian sauce); and Vegetable Chow Fun (soft, wide rice noodles and vegetables in a vegetarian sauce).

Stephanie told The VRG: “I am unsure where your source received their information and maybe they were confusing the coconut milk we use in the Coconut Curry Vegetables but I can assure you there is no milk in our vegetarian recipes.”

Because some coconut milk powder may contain casein or other dairy product, we confirmed with PF Chang’s and they said there was no casein in their dish.

When The VRG asked Stephanie if there were any eggs, egg products, or honey in the vegetarian dishes, she stated that “We do not use eggs, egg products or honey in the dishes listed.”

3 to “P.F. Chang’s Entrees Listed as “Vegetarian” Contain No Animal Ingredients”

  1. kerri says:

    thank you for clarifying this..I was getting nervous at first because these are the dishes I usually order. Glad to find out they contain NO animal products. you really delved into this as I had no idea that coconut ilk powder might contain cassein/milk. THANK YOU!!!!!

  2. This is very interesting because I went into a PF Changs 3 days ago in Freehold, NJ and was told that they do not cater to vegans and that NONE of their vegetarian dishes are vegan.
    I was told they cannot tell me what is in any of their dishes, because they cannot be responsible for what is in their food! I was outraged!

  3. Todd Lewandoski says:

    That is great to hear! Thanks for re-researching it!



Leave a Reply


  • Donate

  • Subscribe to the blog by RSS

  • VRG-NEWS

    Sign up for our newsletter to receive recipes, ingredient information, reviews of new products, announcements of new books, free samples of products, and other VRG materials.

    Your E-mail address:
    Your Name (optional):



↑ Top