The Vegetarian Resource Group Blog

Chick-fil-A Waffle Potato Fries are Vegan

Posted on November 29, 2010 by Nina Casalena, The VRG Blog Editor

by Jeanne Yacoubou, MS
VRG Research Director

A reader recently asked The VRG if Chick-fil-A still prepares its Waffle Potato Fries™ in beef tallow as it did a few years ago. We contacted the restaurant chain and spoke with Diane, a Customer Service Representative, who assured us that Chick-fil-A is now using canola oil to cook its fries. This side item is all-plant-based and cooked in a fryer designated for fries only. Patrons may consult the website to find all ingredients listed for this and all other menu items.

Vegetarian and vegan guests at Chick-fil-A will be pleased to learn that this restaurant chain devotes one of its FAQ questions to list items that “they believe” are vegetarian and/or vegan. Chick-fil-A defines the terms “vegetarian” and “vegan” as they are using them. “Vegetarian” is defined as people “who do not eat any meat, poultry, or fish, but include milk and eggs in their diet.” A vegan is defined as a person “who does not eat any foods of animal origin, including ingredients from animal origin.” Patrons should inquire of this restaurant chain about specific items; some may be listed as “vegetarian,” (such as the Waffle Fries™), but are “vegan” according to their definition.

1 to “Chick-fil-A Waffle Potato Fries are Vegan”

  1. I still haven’t decided what I’m eating for Christmas dinner *frantically searches internet for vegetarian recipes*more about easy vegetarian recipes



Leave a Reply


  • Donate

  • Subscribe to the blog by RSS

  • VRG-NEWS

    Sign up for our newsletter to receive recipes, ingredient information, reviews of new products, announcements of new books, free samples of products, and other VRG materials.

    Your E-mail address:
    Your Name (optional):



↑ Top