The Vegetarian Resource Group Blog

Subway® USA Veggie Patties Contain Eggs and Dairy

Posted on January 31, 2012 by Samantha Gendler, Senior Editor

By Jeanne Yacoubou, MS
VRG Research Director

The VRG recently received a Facebook comment about a January 2012 VRG Blog post on Subway® Canada's vegan patty that has been available for approximately one year as a market option for Subway® Canada restaurants. The Facebook writer asked if the veggie patties which have been available for many years in Subway® USA restaurants were also vegan.

We contacted a senior staff member at Subway® USA in January 2012 who told us that the veggie patty currently available as a market option in all Subway® USA restaurants is "…vegetarian (not vegan) – it does contain eggs and dairy."

At this time, the veggie patty is not on the Subway® USA national menu. The VRG was informed by Subway® USA that the veggie patties are "commonly seen on the East and West Coasts" where they are most popular among Subway® patrons.

For those in The United States who would like to see their local Subway® offer a vegan patty, the VRG recommends that you contact Subway® at 203-877-4281 and visit them at to voice your opinion.

The contents of this article, our website, and our other publications, including the Vegetarian Journal, are not intended to provide personal medical advice. Medical advice should be obtained from a qualified health professional. We often depend on product and ingredient information from company employees or company statements. Information does change and mistakes are always possible. Please use your own best judgment about whether a product is suitable for you. Further research or confirmation may be warranted.

For more information on fast food and quick service chains, visit The VRG at

For all kinds of vegetarian and vegan information, please subscribe to our free enewsletter:

There are many ways to stay connected to The Vegetarian Resource Group!

Get our blog delivered right to your inbox:

Follow us on Twitter:

And like us on Facebook:

To support VRG research, donate at:

1 to “Subway® USA Veggie Patties Contain Eggs and Dairy”

  1. Nellie says:

    So happy to find that a person can get vege patties in their subways~ what is the brand name? I haven`t found any that size. They are so good! Thanks

Leave a Reply

  • Donate

  • Subscribe to the blog by RSS


    Sign up for our newsletter to receive recipes, ingredient information, reviews of new products, announcements of new books, free samples of products, and other VRG materials.

    Your E-mail address:
    Your Name (optional):

↑ Top