The Vegetarian Resource Group Blog

Stearic Acid and Stearates in Mints: Almost All Vegetable-Sourced — Part 2 of 3 By Jeanne Yacoubou, MS

Posted on March 01, 2016 by The VRG Blog Editor

Companies Using Animal-Based Stearic Acid/Stearate Compounds

The Vegetarian Resource Group already reported on Wrigley’s use of tallow- and lard-derived stearic acid in Life Savers Pep O Mint®, Spear O Mint®, and Wint O Green® flavors. We also pointed out in that article that the magnesium stearate in some of their products is palm oil-derived.

Hershey’s told us by phone and email that their magnesium stearate is “usually” derived from animal fat. They were not able to elaborate further when we asked if “usually” meant something closer to 51% or 99%.

Mondelēz International told us by phone and email that their magnesium stearate could be sourced from “either animal or plant.” They were unable to be more specific although we made several attempts at clarification.

Look for future articles on this subject. See part 1 of this article here:

The contents of this posting, our website, and our other publications, including The Vegetarian Journal, are not intended to provide personal medical advice. Medical advice should be obtained from a qualified health professional. We often depend on product and ingredient information from company statements. It is impossible to be 100% sure about a statement, info can change, people have different views, and mistakes can be made. Please use your best judgment about whether a product is suitable for you. To be sure, do further research or confirmation on your own.

Leave a Reply

  • Donate

  • Subscribe to the blog by RSS


    Sign up for our newsletter to receive recipes, ingredient information, reviews of new products, announcements of new books, free samples of products, and other VRG materials.

    Your E-mail address:
    Your Name (optional):

↑ Top