The Vegetarian Resource Group Blog

Vegan Options at Red Robin® Gourmet Burgers and Brews

Posted on December 30, 2016 by The VRG Blog Editor

o

by Jeanne Yacoubou, MS

After selecting “Nutrition & Allergens” from the Browse Other Topics list which appears after clicking on “Guest Support” in the upper right corner of Red Robin’s homepage http://www.redrobin.com, readers find this Q&A:

Q: Do you currently have vegan and/or vegetarian offerings on your menu?

A: Absolutely. At most Red Robin restaurants, our vegan and vegetarian guests can savor a BOCA® Original vegan burger (excluding our Canada locations) or a Gardenburger® patty at no additional cost. We’re also salad-lovers, which means you’ll likely find our mix of salads and other entrées quite gratifying. Got something specific in mind? Just tell one of our team members, and we’ll gladly handcraft something to meet your dietary needs.

The VRG asked Nicole Jones, Quality & Nutrition Manager at Red Robin Gourmet Burgers and Brews, about their vegan menu items. Following is our Q&A with Nicole.

Q: Could you send us a list of the ingredients for the BOCA® and Gardenburger®? [VRG Note: VRG bolded non-vegan or possibly non-vegan ingredients. Contact Red Robin for more information.]

A: Garden Burger: Cooked brown rice (brown rice, water), vegetables (mushrooms, onions), water, rolled oats, mozzarella cheese (pasteurized part-skim milk, cultures, salt, annatto for color, enzymes), bulgur wheat with water for hydration, cheddar cheese (pasteurized milk, salt, enzymes, cultures, annatto for color), soy protein concentrate. Contains 2% or less of: parsley, yeast extract, salt, modified vegetable gum, wheat gluten, garlic powder, autolyzed yeast extract, spices, citric acid, malted barley flour, natural butter flavor, annatto for color, whey, guar gum, natural smoke flavor, turmeric for color, soy lecithin.

BOCA: Water, Soy Protein Concentrate, Wheat Gluten, Contains Less Than 2% of Methylcellulose, Salt, Caramel Color Dried Onions, Yeast Extract, Sesame Oil, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, Natural and Artificial Flavor (Non-Meat), Disodium Guanylate, Disodium Inosinate.

Q: Are the BOCA and Gardenburger prepared away from all meat products?

A: The BOCA is cooked separately but the Garden Patty can be finished on our flattop grill (which may cook other proteins depending on the restaurant or in a frying pan – the guest can always ask to have it cooked in a clean frying pan at time of order if there are concerns).

Q: Could you send a list of ingredients for the bun(s) that you consider to be all-vegetable and which are served with the Boca and Gardenburger?

A: Our buns do meet the vegetarian criteria but most do not for vegan other than the ciabatta bun or lettuce wrap. [VRG Note: VRG bolded non-vegan or possibly non-vegan ingredients. Contact Red Robin for more information.]

Bun, Ciabatta: Bleached enriched flour (wheat flour, malted barley flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folate), water, wheat gluten, high fructose corn syrup, yeast, fully refined soybean oil, salt, calcium propionate (to retard spoilage),dough improver: (malted wheat flour, enzymes, contains 2% or less of ascorbic acid), calcium sulfate, enzymes.

Bun, Corn Jalapeno: UNBLEACHED ENRICHED FLOUR (WHEAT FLOUR, MALTED BARLEY FLOUR, NIACIN, REDUCED IRON, THIAMINE MONONITRATE, RIBOFLAVIN, FOLIC ACID), WATER, DEGERMINATED YELLOW CORNMEAL, NIACIN, REDUCED IRON, THIAMIN MONONITRATE, RIBOFLAVIN, FOLIC ACID, YEAST, WHEAT GLUTEN, HONEY, GRANULATED SUGAR, FULLY REFINED SOYBEAN OIL, JALAPENO FLAKES, SALT, CALCIUM PROPIONATE (TO RETAIN FRESHNESS), DOUGH IMPROVER (MALTED WHEAT FLOUR, ENZYMES AND 2% OR LESS OF ASCORBIC ACID), CALCIUM SULFATE, ENZYMES

Bun, Gluten Free: WATER, GLUTEN-FREE BLEND (CORN STARCH, POTATO STARCH, MODIFIED TAPIOCA STARCH, CORN FLOUR, TAPIOCA STARCH, GARBANZO BEAN FLOUR, MILLET FLOUR, SORGHUM FLOUR, AMARANTH FLOUR, BROWN RICE FLOUR, WHITE RICE FLOUR), CELLULOSE POWDER, SUGAR, DRIED EGG WHITE, PSYLLIUM, SALT, MODIFIED CELLULOSE GUM, CELLULOSE GUM, CALCIUM PROPIONATE, SODIUM PROPRIONATE, NIACIN (VITAMIN B3), REDUCED IRON, THIAMINE, MONONITRATE (VITAMIN B1), RIBOFLAVIN (VITAMIN B2), FOLIC ACID, YEAST, CANOLA OIL, TAPIOCA FLOUR, RICE FLOUR, EGG WHITE SOLIDS, XANTHAN GUM, SODIUM ALGINATE, GUAR GUM, TAPIOCA STARCH.

Bun, Onion Chive, Kaiser: UNBLEACHED ENRICHED FLOUR (WHEAT FLOUR, MALTED BARLEY FLOUR, NIACIN, REDUCED IRON, THIAMINE MONONITRATE, RIBOFLAVIN, FOLIC ACID), WATER, ONION, FULLY REFINED SOYBEAN OIL, POTATO FLOUR, YEAST, WHEAT GLUTEN, GRANULATED SUGAR, SALT, DRIED CHIVES, CALCIUM PROPIONATE (TO RETAIN FRESHNESS), DOUGH IMPROVER (MALTED WHEAT FLOUR, ENZYMES AND 2% OR LESS OF ASCORBIC ACID), ONION POWDER, CALCIUM SULFATE, ENZYMES

Bun, Telera: Unbleached Flour (Wheat, Malted Barley), Water, Durum Flour, Sugar, Palm Oil, Wheat Gluten, Salt, Contains less than 2% of each of the following: Yeast, Soybean Oil, Dextrose, Corn Starch, Monoglycerides, Enzymes, Enriched with (Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid) and Calcium Propionate (preservative).

Bun, Whole Grain, 4.5 Inch: ENRICHED FLOUR (WHEAT FLOUR, MALTED BARLEY FLOUR, NIACIN, REDUCED IRON, THIAMINE MONONITRATE, RIBOFLAVIN, FOLIC ACID), WATER, SUGAR, WHOLE WHEAT FLOUR, YEAST, WHEAT GLUTEN, SOYBEAN OIL, CONTAINS LESS THAN 2% OF SALT, EMUSIFIER (MONOGLYCERIDE WITH ANTIOXIDANTS), SODIUM STEAROYL LACTYLATE, CARAMEL COLOR, CALCIUM PROPIONATE (PRESERVATIVE). MAY CONTAIN THE FOLLOWING DOUGH CONDITIONERS: MONOCALCIUM PHOSPHATE, SALT, CORN STARCH, AMMONIUM SULFATE, ASCORBIC ACID, CALCIUM SULFATE, CALCIUM PEROXIDE, ENZYMES. TOPPING: CRACKED WHEAT.

Bun, Yellow Seeded: ENRICHED FLOUR (WHEAT FLOUR, MALTED BARLEY FLOUR, NIACIN, REDUCED IRON, THIAMINE MONONITRATE, RIBOFLAVIN, FOLIC ACID), WATER, HIGH FRUCTOSE CORN SYRUP, YEAST, SOYBEAN OIL, CONTAINS LESS THAN 2% OF SALT, WHEAT GLUTEN, CALCIUM PROPIONATE (PRESERVATIVE), EMUSIFIER (MONOGLYCERIDE WITH ANTIOXIDANTS), NATURAL COLOR (YELLOW CORN FLOUR, SOYBEAN OIL, TURMERIC AND PAPRIKA OLEORESINS, MONO/DIGLYCERIDES, NATURAL FLAVOR), SODIUM STEAROYL LACTYLATE. DOUGH CONDITIONER MAY CONTAIN: MONOCALCIUM PHOSPHATE, SODIUM CHLORIDE, CORN STARCH, AMMONIUM SULFATE, ASCORBIC ACID, CALCIUM SULFATE, CALCIUM PEROXIDE, ENZYMES. TOPPING: WATER, SESAME SEEDS.

Q: Are your Mushroom and Zucchini Jump Starters free of all animal ingredients including eggs and dairy?

A:[They] are fried in our common fryers so there is potential of cross contact of animal proteins.

Q: Is the broccoli side dish free of all animal ingredients including eggs and dairy?

A: Yes

Q: Hummus Plate: May guests order this item without croutons? Is it served with pita bread or something similar? If so, is the bread product all-vegetable?

A: [Hummus] is no longer a menu offering. [VRG Note: As of December 2016, hummus (“Heck-Yeah Hummus Plate”) was listed on Red Robin’s website as an appetizer when using the Nutrition Customizer tool.]

Q: Is the Creamy Artichoke & Spinach Dip free of all animal ingredients including eggs and dairy?

A: No, the dip contains cheese.

Q: Are the Guacamole and Salsa with Chips made without any animal ingredients such as gelatin?

A: No, they are not made with gelatin or animal byproducts.

Q: Are the Southwest Black Beans prepared with animal broths or fats? Do they contain animal-based natural flavors?

A: No, they are black beans with seasoning and our salsa added…no animal fats or byproducts added.

Q: Which, if any, of your fries or rings are free of all animal ingredients including eggs and dairy? Are they prepared in oil used to cook dairy-containing menu items (such as cheese sticks), meat or seafood?

A: [T]hey are cooked in a designated fryer which only cooks our steak fries, Yukon Chips, sweet potato fries, potato hashbrowns, and the corn tortilla chips. However, on our allergen menu due to cross contact of allergens in the fryer area with splashback, vapors from one fryer to another we cannot guarantee no cross contact of allergens so we claim all ingredients cooked in any fryer as containing shellfish, fish, wheat, eggs, milk and soy.

Q: When we used the Allergen Customizer tool through your Interactive Allergen Menu page selecting eggs, milk, fish and shellfish, the only appetizer that appeared (as “suitable with modification”) was the Guacamole, Salsa and Chips plate: http://www.redrobin.com/allergen-customizer.html#sides “No white corn tortilla chips” appeared as the modification needed to make this appetizer acceptable to someone avoiding eggs, milk, fish and shellfish. Tortilla strips were identified as an “acceptable option.” A statement on that page read “corn tortilla chips are prepared in a dedicated fryer.” If so, why were white corn tortilla chips excluded as unacceptable?

A: See response above.

Red Robin also offers a Nutrition Customizer tool on its website so patrons may determine total calorie counts and other nutritional information about any menu item or group of menu selections.

Red Robin also offers a Nutrition Customizer tool on its website so patrons may determine total calorie counts and other nutritional information about any menu item or group of menu selections.

http://www.redrobin.com/nutrition-customizer.html#appetizers

Red Robin guests who would like to order a BOCA burger will find it listed as one of the Keep It Simple burgers found on the Gourmet Burgers page of the main menu: http://www.redrobin.com/menu/full-menu-rrgb-t4/gourmet-burgers/keep-it-simple.html

A mention of the vegan burger option also appears on the Garden Burger page of Red Robin’s website: http://www.redrobin.com/menu/full-menu-rrgb-t4/gourmet-burgers/garden-burger.html

The vegan BOCA appears as one type of Red’s Burgers on the Kid’s Menu: http://www.redrobin.com/menu/full-menu-rrgb-t4/kids-menu/kids-burger.html

Complete ingredient statements for menu items are not located on Red Robin’s website. Diners with questions should contact this restaurant chain or ask a manager for more information.

The contents of this posting, our website and our other publications, including Vegetarian Journal, are not intended to provide personal medical advice. Medical advice should be obtained from a qualified health professional. We often depend on product and ingredient information from company statements. It is impossible to be 100% sure about a statement, info can change, people have different views, and mistakes can be made. Please use your best judgment about whether a product is suitable for you. To be sure, do further research or confirmation on your own.

For information about other chains, see http://www.vrg.org/fastfoodinfo.php

For information on vegetarian and vegan restaurants, see http://www.vrg.org/restaurant/index.php

To support The Vegetarian Resource Group researcher, see https://www.givedirect.org/donate/?cid=1565

To join The Vegetarian Resource Group, go to http://www.vrg.org/member/2013sv.php

Leave a Reply


  • Donate

  • Subscribe to the blog by RSS

  • VRG-NEWS

    Sign up for our newsletter to receive recipes, ingredient information, reviews of new products, announcements of new books, free samples of products, and other VRG materials.

    Your E-mail address:
    Your Name (optional):



↑ Top