VEGETARIAN RESOURCE GROUP

Information About Burger King's French Fries

April 28, 2003

Burger King’s Media Relations department has informed us that the poultry-derived amino acid is no longer part of the natural flavoring used on their French fries. We are waiting for written confirmation.

Please note that as of October 2002, and still at the time of this update, the Burger King website contains the following: "Burger King Corporation makes no claim that the BK VEGGIE™ Burger or any other of its products meets the requirements of a vegan or vegetarian diet."

June 7, 2002

In 1997, while researching for our Guide to Fast Food, we were told by Burger King that their French fries contained nothing “which would present a problem to [a vegetarian] diet. No whey, no dairy products, no beef fat, no flavoring from animals.” Recently, however, Burger King Customer Relations asserted that the fries are not to be considered vegetarian.

Burger King’s Media Relations department stated that the fries do contain a small amount of a poultry-based amino acid used for flavoring. They are not able to provide any documentation to this effect. The flavoring is currently under further development. Burger King’s Product Consistency department informed us that the recipe for the French fry coating was last reformulated in the spring of 2001. In the meantime, vegetarians who choose to eat the BK VEGGIE™ may want to order it without the fries.

Check this site for updates.

(Please note that the BK Veggie bun is not vegan and you may want to ask for the patty to be microwaved rather than prepared on the grill with the other meat products.)



The Vegetarian Resource Group Logo © 1996-2014 The Vegetarian Resource Group
PO Box 1463, Baltimore, MD 21203
(410) 366-8343   Email: vrg@vrg.org
Last Updated
April 29, 2003

The contents of this website and our other publications, including Vegetarian Journal, are not intended to provide personal medical advice. Medical advice should be obtained from a qualified health professional. We often depend on product and ingredient information from company statements. It is impossible to be 100% sure about a statement, info can change, people have different views, and mistakes can be made. Please use your own best judgment about whether a product is suitable for you. To be sure, do further research or confirmation on your own.

Web site questions or comments? Please email vrg@vrg.org.