In answer to a reader’s question, VRG Research Director Jeanne Yacoubou learned:
“The enzymes in the flatbread and tortillas are microbial and plant-derived…The Doritos Locos Taco shell contains enzymes from animal origin (cow). None of the ingredients contain L-Cysteine.”
Jeanne is working on followup questions concerning other ingredients in Taco Bell’s bread products and in the cheese sauce as an online reader asked.
For more information on quick service chains, see:
The contents of this posting, our website and our other publications, including Vegetarian Journal, are not intended to provide personal medical advice. Medical advice should be obtained from a qualified health professional. We often depend on product and ingredient information from company statements. It is impossible to be 100% sure about a statement, info can change, people have different views, and mistakes can be made. Please use your best judgment about whether a product is suitable for you. To be sure, do further research or confirmation on your own.