Vegan Offerings Popping up in Restaurant Chains

Mellow Mushroom® has more than 170 locations in 19 states and offers a wide selection of salads, hoagies, and pizzas that can be customized to a vegan diet. Their website states, "We offer a large variety of vegetarian options, many of which can be easily made vegan. You'll find tofu and tempeh, which can be seasoned seven different ways and fresh veggies galore throughout our menu. We also offer Daiya vegan cheese, which is free of animal and soy products, and a good source of calcium. Our veggie customers always leave full, happy and satisfied!" For more detailed information see this Vegetarian Resource Group blog posting:

At Pizza Rev, customers pick out their own dough, sauce, cheese, and toppings and the "pizza crafters" work with you to make your own personalized pizza right before your eyes. They are located in California, Minnesota, Texas, and Utah, and will be expanding to Missouri, Nebraska, and South Dakota. Their website states, "We offer Daiya vegan cheese, and our gluten-free and original crust options are both vegan. We have over a dozen veggie toppings, and our red sauce is vegan, too." Visit:

Salata restaurants has added three new vegan items to the menu at all of its 40 locations in Texas and California: quinoa, falafel, and tofu. They are a permanent part of Salata's 50-plus options for salad toppings or wrap fillings. The Salata website lists these dressings as vegan: Lemon Vinaigrette Dressing, Fat-Free Sun Dried Tomato Dressing, Balsamic Vinaigrette Dressing, and Chipotle Sauce. None of the soups were marked vegan. See:

According to the Smoothie King website, they now carry a Vegan Dark Chocolate Banana smoothie containing Sunwarrior® Warrior Blend plant-based protein, 100% cocoa, bananas and açaí sorbet. The Vegan Mango Kale smoothie contains Sunwarrior® Warrior Blend plant-based protein, kale, mango juice blend, bananas, apple juice, and almonds. For more information, see:

According to ZPizza, if you'd like to build your own pizza or order a salad, their acceptable vegan ingredients are as follows:

  • Pizza dough (contains organic flour, olive oil, yeast, sugar, salt)
  • Gluten-free crust
  • Vegan cheese by Daiya
  • Veggie crumbles
  • Tomato sauce
  • Marinara sauce
  • Mexican salsa
  • Roasted garlic sauce
  • Caramelized onions
  • Roasted eggplant
  • All fresh vegetables

It is impossible to be 100% sure about a statement, information can change, people have different views, and mistakes can be made. Please use your best judgment about whether a product is suitable for you. To be sure, do further research or confirmation on your own.

For information on other chains, see

To find vegetarian restaurants, see